81st EAGE Conference & Exhibition 2019

Embrace Change - Creativity for the Future

3 - 6 June
London, United Kingdom
Call for papers

The Laurie Dake Challenge

The Laurie Dake Challenge is created with the aim to promote cross‐disciplinary geoscience and engineering integration within universities. Each participating university will have a multi‐disciplinary team of full time geoscience and petroleum engineering students, with a maximum of one PhD student per team.

The competition starts with an assignment prepared by each team, after this first round ten teams will be selected to submit the Field plan, the jury will select the six finalist teams. All teams work with the same data set, provided by BP this year.

The six winning teams will be supported with three travel grants to present their field plan to an expert jury during the 81st EAGE Conference & Exhibition at 2 June 2019 in London, UK. 

Teams can consist of full‐time students from some or all of the following disciplines:

  • Geophysics
  • Geology
  • Petrophysics
  • Reservoir engineering
  • Production engineering
  • Petroleum economics
  • Petroleum Engineering

Integration is the key!

How to participate in the Laurie Dake Challenge

Universities are invited to participate in the Laurie Dake Challenge with a multidisciplinary team of 3 to 5 students (one PhD student per team allowed). The competition includes three selection rounds that are further explained below. To enter the competition each team is required to submit an assignment on a certain topic.









All universities are invited to participated in this competition, details we be published soon and the time frame of the competition is described below:

Item   Deadline
 Application  and submission first assignment   10 October to 21 December 2018
 Semi-Finalist selection  21 January 2019
 Second Round Submission  18 March 2019
 Finalist announcement ( 6 team selected to present the final in London)  1 April 2019
 Final presentation slides submission   20 May 2019
 Final Development plan presentation in London  2 June 2019
 Announcement of the winner in the opening ceremony  3 June 2019
Selection round 1.Exploration data set assignment

Every team that applies will receive a data set, which is sponsored by Shell, to work with. They will have the opportunity to analyze and interpret  an exploration data set of a discovered hydrocarbon resource.

The first assignment should  be submitted  by 21 December 2019. 

In this first round,  the best ten teams will be selected for the next round of selection.

Please complete the submission  of the assignment and if you have any further question do not  hesitate to contact  Rosmery Gonzalez 

Selection round 2. Assignment submission

The  ten still standing teams are required to start working with the data they received and; pitch your development plans in a 3-minute video.

IFP School
Dalhousie University
Curtin University
Universitas Gadjah Mada( team 2)
Fluminense Federal University
Institut Teknologi Bandung
University of Stavanger
Petroleum University of Technology (PUT)
Tomsk Polytechnic University
Instituto Mexicano del Petroleo

 To select the best 6 teams that we will invite to the finals on Sunday 2 June in London, the judges have decided to organize an interim review:

The video should be submitted  no later than   Monday 18th March (12:00 UTC +1)

The pitch interim review will result in the selection of the 6 finalist teams that will receive travel grants and free tickets to 81st EAGE Conference & Exhibition 2019 !

Requirements of the video:

- Acceptable quality visual and sound Landscape orientation

- The duration of the video should NOT be longer than 3 minutes

Remember that you pitch your field development plan to BP Company!

Based on the submission, the Laurie Dake Challenge jury will select the six finalist teams that will be invited to present their findings during  81st EAGE Conference & Exhibition 2019

Submit your second assignment



Selection round 3. Presentations during EAGE Conference & Exhibition (finals)

Teams selected in the Final round :

EAGE invites three team members of each of the six finalist university teams to come to the EAGE Conference & Exhibition in London to present their findings in front of an expert Laurie Dake Challenge jury. Therefore, each team will receive three travel grants (including free registration as a full student delegate during the conference). The presentations will be judged by 8 to 10 jury members, all with their own expertise.

All finalist teams are required to submit their Laurie Dake Challenge Development plans and the presentations a few weeks before the finals. The Laurie Dake  development plans must include the following:

• Well log analysis
• Structural model
• Identified flow units
• Static reservoir model property modelling
• Dynamic reservoir model
• Forward (appraisal and) development plan

Announcements for current participating teams

EAGE Laurie Dake Challenge

Laurie Dake  Challenge finalists will present their findings to an expert jury, after months of working on a dataset (provided by BP) of a discovered hydrocarbon resource. Universities and industry are invited to attend the presentations and witness the competition between the most excellent multi-disciplinary student teams on a global scale.


University of Stavanger
Dalhousie University
Institut Teknologi Bandung
IFP School
Instituto Mexicano del Petroleo
Petroleum University of Technology (PUT)


The Trophy

The winning team of the Laurie Dake Field Challenge will receive a trophy during the London 2019  Opening Session, Monday 3rd June, starting from 16:00 in the presence of the top of our geoscience and engineering community.