SPE/EAGE Tar Mats & Heavy Oil Workshop: Fluid Characterisation and Development/Operational Challenges

30 - 31 January
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Call for papers

About Dubai

Dubai is the largest and most populous city of the seven Emirates. 

The city of Dubai is located on the emirate's northern coastline and heads the Dubai-Sharjah-Ajman metropolitan area. 

Dubai emerged as a global city and business hub of the Middle East. It is also a major transport hub for passengers and cargo. By the 1960s, Dubai's economy was based on revenues from trade and, to a smaller extent, oil exploration concessions, but oil was not discovered until 1966.


LOCATION: Abu Dhabi is the capital of the United Arab Emirates.

LOCAL TIME: GMT +4 hours.

LANGUAGE: The official language of the UAE is Arabic but English is widely spoken and understood.

CURRENCY: The monetary unit is the UAE dirham (AED), which is divided into 100 fils. The exchange rate is US$1 = AED 3.67**.

CLIMATE: Sunny, blue skies can be expected throughout the year although June to September is hot and humid with temperatures averaging above 40C.

The weather is pleasant from October to May, and evenings in January and February can necessitate the use of a sweater.

Air-conditioning is present in all vehicles and buildings.

CLOTHING: Lightweight summer clothing in cottons or blends is ideal for the majority of the year. A sweater, light jacket or shawl may be needed for cooler evenings.

The dress code in Dubai is relaxed. However, extremely revealing and inappropriate clothing may be considered offensive.

BUSINESS HOURS: The official weekend is Friday and Saturday. Most shops and malls open by 10am and close around 11pm.

ELECTRICITY: The electrical system is based on 220/240 volts AC. US-made appliances may require an adaptor.


Passports must be valid for at least six months beyond your intended stay.

If your country of nationality appears on the list below, no advance visa arrangements are required to visit the UAE. Simply disembark your flight at Dubai International Airport and proceed to Immigration, where your passport will be stamped with a 30-day visit visa. This can be extended for an additional 30 days at an additional charge.

Eligible countries: Australia, Andorra, Austria, Brunei, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States of America, The Vatican.

In addition to nationals of the countries listed above, citizens of the GCC nations of Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, and Saudi Arabia are eligible for the visa on arrival at Dubai International Airports.

Citizens of countries not listed above must obtain a visit visa in advance and can be arranged through their hotel. Please ensure that the hotel receives all the required documents sufficiently in advance to avoid delays (visa processing may take 10-14 working days).

Please also check with your travel agent or the UAE Embassy in your country on regulations relating to immigration and visas before your departure.

**Please check latest exchange rates