How the EU works 

The EU is based on the rule of law, meaning that every action taken by the EU is founded on treaties that have been approved by all EU countries.  These binding agreements set out the EU’s goals in its many areas of activity.

The European Commission, the European Parliament and the Council of the European Union are the three central legislative institutions of the European Union, and are referred to as the EU’s institutional triangle. These three institutions represent different interest groups in the EU bureaucracy.

  • The European Commission represents the interests of the EU as a whole
  • The European Parliament represents the EU’s citizens and is directly elected by them
  • The Council of the European Union consists of the Heads of State or Government of the EU Member States

 EU decision making








The other main EU institutions are following:

  • The European Council gives the impetus and directions to European integration
  • The European Court of Justice settles disputes
  • The Economic and Social Committee and Committee of Regions are advisory bodies
EU guidance



 EU advice