Honorary Memberships

Honorary Membership is conferred upon a member of EAGE who has made a highly significant and distinguished technical and/or non-technical contribution to the geoscience community at large or to EAGE in particular.

Honorary Membership 2017 is conferred upon

Satinder Chopra
After two master’s degrees from Himachal Pradesh University, India, Satinder Chopra learned his trade as a processing and interpretation geophysicist with ONGC in India before moving to Scott Pickford in Calgary in 1998. Here, he led the introduction and demonstration of coherence-cube processing as a means of visualising, with amazing resolution, geological structure in 3D seismic data. Success set his direction and his name has become synonymous with a string of developments in seismic attributes: not only in their estimation but also in their interpretation in the context of hydrocarbon detection and play analysis, and in their communication to the industry through a series of practical workflows, case studies and publications.

After an interlude at Paradigm in Calgary, Satinder joined Arcis Seismic Solutions, now a subsidiary of TGS-NOPEC, in 2004 as Manager and then Chief Geophysicist of Reservoir Services. While in managerial positions, Satinder has followed his research interests relentlessly and has made major contributions in curvature analysis, impedance inversion, AVO analysis and VSP data processing; all in the pursuit of improved interpretation of 3D seismic data for both structure and reservoir properties such as porosity, saturation and fractures.

Satinder is a born communicator. While reflecting his rigorous physics background in books for Indian maths students, Satinder has generated some 170 journal publications (18 in First Break) and over 200 conference presentations, as well as eight books with a ninth in preparation. He has been a Distinguished Lecturer for CSEG and AAPG/SEG, and an e-Lecturer for EAGE in 2014-15. Satinder has been unstinting in his time and support for associations in India, the USA, Europe and Canada, and has served CSEG on several committees and as editor of the CSEG Recorder. He has won numerous best paper and best poster awards and was made Honorary Member of CSEG in 2014. For his extensive contributions, EAGE is glad to award its own 2017 Honorary Membership to Satinder Chopra.

Paris, 12 June 2017


EAGE Honorary Members 

2016 Olivier Dubrule
Lars Sønneland
Neil Goulty
2015 Richard Ogilvy
2014 Andrew McBarnet
2014 Jacob Fokkema
2013 Roger Arthur Clark
2012 Robert Mitchum
2012 Paul F. Worthington
2011 Phil Christie
2011 Tijmen Jan Moser
2010 Bill Dragoset
2010 Geoff King
2010 Markku Peltoniemi
2010 Peter Duncan
2010 Werner Liebl
2009 Etienne Robein
2009 Mike Bacon
2008 Jim Cain
2008 Roger Lott
2008 Roel Nicolai
2007 Dragi Stefanovic
2007 Sven Treitel
2006 Augustinus Berkhout
2006 Edward Szaraniec
2005 Alfred Frasheric
2005 Tamás Bodoky
2005 Roy White
2004 Anthony Spencer
2004 Donald H. Griffiths
2003 J.J. Nooteboom
2003 G. Zuncke
2003 L. Thomsen
2003 P. Hubral
2002 V. Cerveny
2002 V. Bardan
2001 J.-C. Grosset
2001 M. Al-Chalabi
2000 J.F. Claerbout
1999 T. Taner
1999 N. Savostyanov
1999 D.S. Parasnis
1998 E. van der Gaag
1998 I. Gausland
1998 D. March
1998 F. Rocca
1995 G. Grau
1994 M.J.G. Cox
1993 D.G.Cane
1992 S.E. Saxov
1992 W. Goudswaard
1989 K. Helbig
1988 A.W. Smit
1988 D. Michon
1988 Th. Krey
1988 A.A Fitch
1986 N.A. Anstey
1985 P.N.S. O'Brien
1976 H.J. Hoogeveen
1964 V. Baranov
1963 O. Koefoed
1963 B.Baars
1958 A. van Weelden