EAGE Board Ballot 2020

Vice-Chair Near Surface Geoscience Division

The Board proposes Esther Bloem for the position of Vice-Chair Near Surface Geoscience Division.

Esther Bloem holds a Ph.D. in Environmental Sciences from Wageningen University and Research, The Netherlands (2008) and a M.Sc. in Mining and Petroleum Engineering (specializations: Applied Geophysics and Engineering Geology) from Delft University and Technology, The Netherlands (2002). Since 2008, she works as a research scientist at the Division of Environment and Natural Resources at the Norwegian Institute of Bioeconomy Research (NIBIO).

She works on issues concerning the environment, hydrogeology, agriculture, food security and climate change. Her research focus is on the impact of soil infiltration systems, irrigation systems, use of pesticides, potential salinization of the soil, groundwater extractions, saltwater intrusions, landfills and sewage spills, agriculture, industry (including airport activities) on soil and water quality. With her work she contributes to sustainable resource management, the reduction of negative environmental effects through development of measures, sustainable land use, and the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) of the United Nations. She has research and development experience in Norway, the Netherlands, France, Germany, UK, Australia, Bangladesh, India, Ethiopia, Kenya, Malawi, Rwanda, South Africa and Tanzania.

She is an active member of EAGE, IAH, and EGU. She is the Technical Programme Officer for the Near Surface Geoscience Division (NSGD) and near surface representative in the Technical Programme Committee (TPC), both since 2017.