EAGE Board Ballot 2020

Education Officer

The Board proposes Colin Macbeth for the position of Education Officer for a second term.

Colin MacBeth

Professor MacBeth received a B.A. and M.A. in Physics from the University of Oxford in 1980 and a Ph.D. in Geophysics from the University of Edinburgh in 1983. After postdoctoral studies in Trieste and Utrecht, he joined the British Geological Survey in 1985, becoming Principal Scientific Officer in 1991.He was project director of the Edinburgh Anisotropy Project from 1994 until 1999. In 1999 he moved to the Institute of Petroleum Engineering, Heriot-Watt University as Professor of Reservoir Geophysics. There he established the Edinburgh Time-Lapse Project (ETLP) in 2000.After 18 years of research, the consortium is now entering its seventh phase of sponsorship.

Professor MacBeth has published over 240 journal papers and conference publications in topics broadly related to seismic reservoir characterization, and won the Conrad Schlumberger Award from the EAGE in 2007. His main research interests are in quantitative 4D seismic interpretation, integration of 4D seismic and reservoir/production engineering, monitoring of improved and enhanced oil recovery, and seismic history matching.

Professor MacBeth is a member of the European Association of Exploration Geophysics (EAGE), Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG), Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE), Petroleum Exploration Society of Great Britain (PESGB), Royal Astronomical Society (RAS), and Royal Scottish Society of Arts (SSRA).