EAGE Board Ballot 2020

Technical Programme Officer 

The Board proposes Aart-Jan van Wijngaarden for the position of Technical Programme Officer for a second term.

Aart-Jan van WijngaardenAart-Jan van Wijngaarden graduated in 1992 from the Delft University of Technology with a MSc and a PhD in 1998.

In 1992 he started his career with Geco-Prakla in seismic processing. In 1994 he returned to the Delphi consortium at the TU Delft, where he graduated in 1998.

In 1998 he joined the Norsk Hydro Research center in Bergen Norway, where he worked on seismic imaging and inversion, 4D interpretation and rock physics.

In 2001 he became leading advisor for seismic data analysis. In 2005 he became the discipline leader for geophysics in the Troll Petech team.

After the merger of Norsk Hydro and Statoil he became leader for the Lithology and Fluid Prediction group in Global Exploration Technology.

In 2010 he moved back to research to lead the carbonate exploration research group. From 2016 he has been leading one of Statoil´s strategic research projects on Petroleum Systems.

He is an active member of both EAGE and the SEG. He has published and presented a number of articles at conferences on topics including prestack imaging, seismic inversion and characterization, and organized rock physics and 4D related workshops for EAGE and FORCE. He is the current Technical Programme Officer.